top of page


The Lyn & District Motor Club

Founded by a handful of men in the front room of Bob Jones house in Lynton in 1952, the Lyn Motor Club began life running Scrambles using local farm land. Trials & Car runs were introduced later & were very popular.

The founder members of the club were Bob Jones, Timmo Holsgrove, Fred Smith & Tommy Clarke.

Incidentally, the Club logo, now digitally reproduced was designed by local Lynton printer, Mr Sydney James Clarke.

Many local land owners came forward with offers to provide silver cups & trophies to give as awards for the events, some of which are still being used today. Many famous names & well known names are engraved on the Trophies such as Sammy Miller, Malcolm Rathmell & Jeff Chandler & more recently, Steve Sanders & local rider Joe Baker, who has won the Lyn Traders Trophy more times than anyone in its history, with an impressive 16 wins.

The Club now concentrates on Trials with six events a year being held around the Lynton, Parracombe & Exmoor area.

The largest event is the Lyn Traders National on Whit Sunday & has been run for more than 50 years attracting in the past 180 riders from all over the country. The Trial then started at Holman Park Lynton & used local roads & byways to ride over 40 observed sections. Results were worked out at the Sandrock Hotel, headquarters for meetings & the Proprietor the late Mr John Harrison was long time President of the Club. An early member of the Club, Roy Pugsley is the current President.

Nowadays with fewer riders road registering their bikes & younger riders entering the event, the course is now held on closed farm land.

The Club hosts an annual social evening locally where awards are presented & Landowners are invited by the Club, to show our gratitude for the use of their land.

Who’s Who in the Club

President - Roy Pugsley

Chairman - Gary Wright

Vice Chairman - Joe Baker

Clerk of the Course - Graham Baker

Sec/Trials Secretary - Heidi Baker

Website Administrator - Adrian Hobbs 

bottom of page